2022 All-Lexington Chronicle Football Teams and Coaches/Players of the Year

Posted 12/28/22

The players and coaches that stood above the rest in 2022 football in Lexington County.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Subscribe to continue reading. Already a subscriber? Sign in

Get 50% of all subscriptions for a limited time. Subscribe today.

You can cancel anytime.

Please log in to continue

Log in

2022 All-Lexington Chronicle Football Teams and Coaches/Players of the Year


Co-Players of the Year - RB Jarvis Green and LB Chandler Perry (both of Dutch Fork High School)

A Clemson University signee and Shrine Bowl selection, Green rushed for 2,241 yards and 33 touchdowns, caught a team-high 36 receptions for 526 yards and six touchdowns and had two kick returns for touchdowns. A Charleston Southern signee and Touchstone Energy Cooperatives North-South All-Star selection, Perry had 82 tackles, 10 quarterback hurries, nine sacks, two interceptions both returned for touchdowns, a fumble recovery returned for a touchdown and averaged 37.4 yards on punts.

Coach of the Year - Nicholas Pelham (White Knoll)

In his second year as head coach, Pelham led the Timberwolves to their first 6-0 start in school history, a Top 5 ranking in Class 5A and best overall record in three years.

Special Coaches Recognition

Tom Knotts (Dutch Fork High School)

In leading the Silver Foxes to their seventh state title in school history, a 14-1 record and 14th straight region title, Knotts improved to 46-6 in the post-season. Dutch Fork also extended its road-winning streak to 42 straight, an in-state regular-season winning streak to 45 in a row and region winning streak to 32.

Zach Matthews (W.W. King Academy)

The Knights advanced to the SCISA 8-man championship for the first time since 2016 and finished state-runner-up with a 11-2 record.

First Team


Quarterbacks – Taiden Mines (Lexington), A.J. Brand (Irmo), Riley Staton (Gray Collegiate)

Running backs – Cooper Johns (River Bluff), Jonah Norris (Lexington), Naahzeikial Mays (Brookland-Cayce), Alias Graham-Woodberry (Gilbert)

Offensive line – Jacob Beasley (Dutch Fork), Ryan McFarland (Lexington), Blake Cooke (Gilbert), Elijah Radden and J.T. Sowell (both of Gray Collegiate), B.J. Ham (Irmo) and Kamden Sox (Brookland-Cayce)

Wide receivers – Kamadi Maxwell (Lexington), Devin Johnson (Gray Collegiate), Telvin Smith (Irmo), Austin Cunningham (White Knoll)

Tight end – Apollos Cook (Airport), Blaine Blose (River Bluff)

Placekicker – Brady Orr (River Bluff)

Athlete – Collin Woodward (W.W. King Academy), Luke New (Pelion)


Defensive lineman – Josh Smith and Dakota Jordan (both of Dutch Fork), Max Drag (Chapin), Jeb Taylor (Gray Collegiate), Jordan Allen (River Bluff)

Linebackers – Jylil Favor (Irmo), Demenico Banks (White Knoll), Jordan Robinson (Gray Collegiate), Christian Sexton (Lexington) and Jaylen Hinton and Joe Buetow (both of Dutch Fork)

Defensive backs – Thomas Powell (River Bluff), Landon Danley and JVon Mack (both of Dutch Fork), Jordan Smith (Gilbert), Blake Croft (Gray Collegiate)

Punter – Cade Bouknight (Batesburg-Leesville)

Second Team


Quarterbacks - Aliam Appler (Dutch Fork), Parker Murphy (River Bluff), Landon Sharpe (White Knoll), Tanner Staton (Brookland-Cayce)

Running backs – Erick Turner (Irmo), Jesse Ross (White Knoll), Jaden Allen-Hendrix (Gilbert), Korey Williams (Batesburg-Leesville), Ben Sauls (W.W. King Academy)

Offensive linemen – Jalani Golston (Brookland-Cayce), Davon Bell (River Bluff), Luca Feraci (Lexington), Patrick Swygert (Batesburg-Leesville), Elijah Williams (Irmo), Ty Bennett (White Knoll)

Wide receivers – Jarrod Mewborn (Lexington), Stephen Collier (River Bluff) and Isaiah Jones and Jacob Hamilton (both of Dutch Fork), Hasan Lee (White Knoll)

Tight end – Caleb Alexander (Irmo), Patrick Ross (Dutch Fork)

Placekicker – Felipe Diaz (Batesburg-Leesville)

Athlete – Noah Beerman (Chapin), Sam Burks (Northside Christian)


Defensive linemen – Drew Surratt and A.J. Colter (both of River Bluff), Deejay McFadden (Airport), Zack Gebhard (Northside Christian Academy), Luke Rankin (Chapin)

Linebackers – Jordan Cook and Connor Clamp (both of River Bluff), Ricky Tyler (Swansea), Hayden Cushman (White Knoll), J.J. Risher (Batesburg-Leesville)

Defensive backs – Braydon Woolbright (Lexington), Adam Bass (Chapin), Justin Gissendanner (Swansea), Kendall Stroman (Airport), Nate Cromer (White Knoll)

Punter – Jackson Thomas (Brookland-Cayce), Jaiden Kimble (White Knoll)


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here