How to vote in Gilbert’s Town Council runoff


The Lexington County Registrations and Elections Office has announced details for the runoff election to decide the winner of the second of two seats on Gilbert Town Council that were up for grabs in the Nov. 7 election.

Only one non-incumbent, Fred Taylor, filed to run, nabbing 35 votes and securing a seat by virtue of being the only candidate on the ballot.

72 write-in votes went to Brian Smith and Donnie Cason, with Lenice Shoemaker, the county’s elections director, telling the Chronicle that due to Gilbert changing from a plurality vote to a majority vote for its elections earlier this year, a Nov. 21 runoff would be held, with Smith and Cason facing off for the second seat.

Here’s how and when Gilbert citizens can vote in the runoff:

  • Early Voting (at the county elections office, 605 W Main St. in Lexington) — 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m., Wednesday (Nov. 15)-Friday (Nov. 17)
  • Election Day (at the Gilbert Voting Precinct, 409 Broad St.) — Tuesday, Nov. 21, 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

“If you have any questions, please contact the County Registration and Elections Office at 803-785-8369,” the county posted to Facebook. “Remember, you can only vote in this election if you are registered to vote and located within the town limits.”


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here