Two Lexington District 1 administrators get Assistant Principal of the Year awards

Posted 11/30/23

A pair of Lexington County school administrators have been named tops in the state.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Subscribe to continue reading. Already a subscriber? Sign in

Get 50% of all subscriptions for a limited time. Subscribe today.

You can cancel anytime.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Two Lexington District 1 administrators get Assistant Principal of the Year awards


A pair of Lexington County school administrators have been named tops in the state.

The S.C. Association of School Administrators recently recognized Meg Huggins, assistant principal at River Bluff High School, as the 2024 Secondary Assistant Principal of the Year, and Tomeka Love, assistant principal at Red Bank Elementary, as the 2024 Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year.

Both Huggins and Love work at schools in Lexington County School District 1, the county’s largest district, serving students in and around the Town of Lexington.

The association awards a Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year award to an administrator at the secondary, middle and elementary level, with two more of this year’s honorees having having already been announced and also residing in the Midlands — Karis Mazyck of Blythewood Middle School is the Middle Level Principal of the Year, and Sabrina Mosso-Taylor of Jackson Creek Elementary School is the Elementary Principal of the Year; both of those schools reside in Richland County School District 2.

“All four statewide winners were selected from outstanding fields of administrator candidates by a veteran panel of judges,” a release states. “The criteria used in award selection is set by the National Association of Secondary School Principals and the National Association of Elementary School Principals for the respective award categories.”

At River Bluff, Huggins serves as academic dean for innovation in addition to her duties as assistant principal.

“She inspires her students to work hard and always do their best as well as encouraging and supporting faculty members,” Beth Phibbs, the awarding association’s executive director, is quoted. “Mrs. Huggins is an extraordinary individual who embodies the qualities of an exceptional educator and leader.”

River Bluff Principal Jacob Smith was also effusive in his praise.

“Meg Huggins is a relentless leader who lives by the motto ‘We can do hard things,’" he is quoted. “While at River Bluff, she has made significant positive changes as an instructional leader, bringing innovation to the school. Meg also drives the Lead Instructional Team (LIT), ensuring equity and academic excellence. Meg's commitment to student achievement and her ability to inspire positive change make her an outstanding SCASA choice. Her journey as a cancer survivor adds to her inspirational character, making her a source of motivation for colleagues and students.”

Red Bank’s Love was also lauded for the job she does.

“She builds strong working relationships with the school community she serves,” Phibbs is quoted. “Ms. Love creates an environment where students, families, and staff members feel a sense of belonging and believe they can learn, grow, and thrive regardless of circumstance.”

“Mrs. Love is a true team player who demonstrates great initiative and is committed to continuous school improvement and building positive relationships with all stakeholders,” Red Bank Principal Janet Ricard is quoted. “She immediately began to establish the foundation for building collaborative relationships in our building from our leadership team to all grade levels and other school teams. We are thrilled to celebrate the honor of her being named SCASA’s 2024 South Carolina Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year. We feel very fortunate to call her a Roadrunner!”

Lexington 1 Superintendent Gerrita Postlewait emphasized what the district bringing in two Assistant Principal of the Year awards says about the experience it provides to students.

“Tomeka Love and Meg Huggins consistently go above and beyond to create positive and supportive learning environments for our students,” Postlewait is quoted. “They are passionate about education and look for innovative ways to improve our schools. They are also strong advocates for our students and teachers and are always willing to go the extra mile to help them succeed.

“This well-deserved recognition showcases their outstanding leadership and dedication to our students. Lexington 1 is grateful for their contributions and the positive impact they have on the lives of our students.”

Other representatives of districts that touch Lexington County were nominated for the four awards that went to Midlands administrators, with Erin Doty (principal at Crossroads Intermediate School in Lexington-Richland School District 5) receiving a nomination for Middle Level Principal of the Year and Michelle Johnson (assistant principal at Seven Oaks Elementary in District 5) receiving a nomination for Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here